top of page

Clair de Lune

Clair de Lune – Claude Debussy

This world-famous piece brings so much joy to my life. Whenever I sit down at a piano, this is the first thing that springs to my fingers. It is so peaceful yet has so much life. It flows so seamlessly, as if the melody wants to roll away down a hill and never stop.

‘Clair de lune’ is French for ‘light of the moon’, or ‘moonlight’ as we would more commonly use. The moon reminds me of a calm night, relaxing and beautiful.

I wanted to include this piece in my journal because it is a perfect representation of how music has so much power to calm nerves and anxieties, helping take you away from worries and stresses, and this piece does all of that for me. Recording this for my journal has given me the idea that waiting-room music should be a thing in the medical world. Waiting rooms are often places full of worry, anxiety and stress. I would love to be able to write a playlist of calming music for medical waiting rooms – maybe that’s an idea for a future project of mine.


bottom of page