top of page

Lullaby for the Awakening

This piece of poetry set to music was produced by collaboration of a poet, Philip Wells, and I, a musician. Written at Christmas time, it tells a the story of the birth of Christ from a different perspective. I also produced a piece of ink-pen artwork in response to the poem, as displayed below.

As this journal has encouraged me to think about things from a different perspective, I decided to apply this to my thoughts about this Christmas period. With a faith in Christianity, the story of Jesus' birth is very familiar, but when I thought about it, I realised that the nativity story of Christmas is often over-glamourised. This poem, written by Philip Wells, strips this all away, and writes the nativity story from a very different perspective. It is raw, honest and beautiful. I worked alongside him to set his words to music. I have left the chords in place to illustrate where the music fits with the words.

Bm Gm

Newborn, every dawn.

A Bm Sunrise: lamb's open eyes.

Bm Gm Manger-boy, stranger-boy,

A Bm Refugee –

Bm Gm What you do for the child

A Bm You do for me.

Bm Gm

Mother's love, holy dove:

A Bm

Light below and light above.

Bm Gm Far from home, fearful,

A Bm Always on the run –

Bm Gm The newborn gift

A Gm Glitters like sun.

Bm Gm

Stablelight, donkey-fur,

A Bm The oxen's radiant gaze:

Bm Gm Baby in a linen

A Huddle & Swaddled

Bm In nurturing rays.

Bm Gm

Shepherd stars, sacred sheep,

A Bm Humankind our quantum leap:

Bm Gm Manger-boy, stranger-boy,

A Bm Refugee –

A Let every child

Gm Come to me.

F# F#/Bb

Dusty feet, humble straw,

Bm G7 Bring in the poverty king:

F# Rest your feet,

F#/Bb Nestle deep –

G7 E7 Snuggle in my arms

G7 E7 Like angel wings.

Bm Gm

Mother's calm, mother's palm,

A Bm Fingers soft as lullabies

Bm Cheeks of light,

Gm Cheeks of down –

A Daddy's weeping

Gm Silver eyes.

Bm Gm

Newborn, every dawn.

A Bm Sunrise: lamb's open eyes.

Bm Gm Manger-boy, stranger-boy,

A Bm Refugee –

Bm Gm What you do for the child

A Gm You do for me.

F# F#/Bb

Let every child come to me:

Bm G7 Manger-boy,

F# F#/Bb stranger-boy and Refugee –

G7 E7 What you do for the child

G7 E7 You do for me: [if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

A Gm

Let every child come to me

A Bm Let every child come to me.

-Words by Philip Wells-

-Music by Jess Duckworth-


bottom of page