top of page

Another Place


On a recent trip to Liverpool, I took a visit to see the installation of Anthony Gormley’s body sculptures on Crosby beach. There are 100 cast-iron life-size figures facing out towards the sea. It was a spectacular sight, and it has been on my mind since I visited. It provoked some thoughts surrounding my recent experiences, which led me to create this charcoal drawing.

It has three very different and personal meanings for me:

  1. Moving cities, moving degrees, moving my focus. This year is taking me to ‘another place’.

  2. When illness takes over your life, the arts become a brilliant distraction, taking you to ‘another place’. I suffer from intermittent yet chronic hip pain due to a condition meaning my hip bones and joints are underdeveloped. I have found that the arts are always a welcomed distraction, and one of the best ways to help me forget about any pain.

  3. I believe that when people die, they go to ‘another place’. Several close loved-ones have sadly passed away over the previous 12 months, making this drawing particularly meaningful to me.


bottom of page