top of page

Fantasia in A Minor by Jess Duckworth

I wrote this piece of music in response to my Grandfather's piece he used to play called London Fantasia (see previous blog entry). I loved his Fantasia so much that I decided to write my own. I put my own spin on it by writing it for piano and violin, rather than just piano. Although I cannot play the violin, but I love it as an instrument, hence why I often write music for it. The violin adds so much colour to the melody-line, with the piano creating such rich chords underneath making the perfect combination.

I think creating or composing something in response to a stimuli makes the task a lot easier. It gives you a reason to be doing the task, and a reference point when you are lost and don't know where to go next. When I became stuck with writing this piece, I went back to the London Fantasia piece and looked at the journey that took in terms of chords and melody, which gave me inspiration for this composition. There are similarities, for example, the big forte chords in the opening bars of the two pieces are relatable.


bottom of page